Bucs Central

Bucs 2011 Schedule Released

The Tampa Bay Buccaneers’ 2011 regular season schedule, released today by the National Football League includes two primetime home games, the first time since the 2003 season. The schedule will also feature seven games against 2010 playoff teams and a total of eight games against teams that finished last season with a .500 record or better.

The Bucs will open the season the same way they opened the 2010 season, at home. They also have four out of their first six games at home. Just like 2010. It also marks the third consecutive year the team opens at home. This season however, they get to play an old Black and Blue division rival in the Detroit Lions. Revenge will surely be on the young Bucs mind as they will be looking to settle a score with the Lions, following a hotly contested 23-20 overtime loss in Week 15 of the 2010 season. The game last year at home against the Lions was a pivotal game and the deciding game that cost the Bucs a chance at a playoff berth.

It will also mark the return of Jon Gruden to Raymond James Stadium as he and the rest of the Monday Night Football crew will invade Tampa as the Bucs play host to the Indianapolis Colts in Week 4. The last time the Bucs hosted the Indianapolis Colts was in 2003 -it was an infamous night for Tampa Bay as the Bucs blew an enormous lead in what would amount to a colossal collapse late in the fourth quarter to fall to the Colts 38-35 in overtime. The Bucs definitely got the national exposure they so desperately seek. The Bucs haven’t had two games in prime time in the same season since 2003 when they were the defending Super Bowl Champions. There second prime time game will be against Americas Team as the Bucs play host to the Dallas Cowboys on a Saturday night in December on NFL Network, plus they play the Saints and Falcons at home in 4 o’clock games. The team rounds out the season with 2 of there last 3 games being played on Saturday and cap off the 2011 season on the road against the Atlanta Falcons.

9-11 LIONS (1 p.m.)
9-18 @Vikings (1 p.m.)
9-25 FALCONS (4:15 p.m.)
10-3 COLTS (Monday Night Football)
10-9 @49ers (4:05 p.m.)
10-16 SAINTS (4:15 p.m.)
10-23 BEARS (in London)
11-6  @Saints (1 p.m.)
11-13 TEXANS (1 p.m.)
11-20 @Packers (1 p.m.)
11-27 @Titans (1 p.m.)
12-4  PANTHERS (1 p.m.)
12-11 @Jaguars (1 p.m.)
12-17 COWBOYS (8:20 p.m.) NFL Network
12-24 @Panthers (1 p.m.)
1-1   @Falcons (1 p.m.)

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInShare on Google+Pin on Pinterest
0 comments… add one

Leave a Comment