Bucs Central

Bucs Release 6 Players, Including Hovan

The Tampa Bay Buccaneers announced today that they have released FB B.J. Askew, DT Chris Hovan, G Shawn Murphy, P Sam Paulescu, G Arron Sears, and CB Stoney Woodson. Hovan started all 16 games last season for the Buccaneers recording 57 tackles, one TFL, 0.5 sacks and one forced fumble. He started 79-of-80 games for the Buccaneers since joining the team in 2005. He led all Tampa Bay defensive linemen in tackles in 2005, 2006 and 2008 and ranked second on the line in 2007 and 2009, recording a career-high 95 tackles in 2007.

Askew was with the team for three seasons (2007-09) playing in 28 games with 15 starts. Last season he played in five of the first six games for Tampa Bay before being placed on the Non-Football Injury List on October 20.

Sears started all 31 games he played in for the Buccaneers since being drafted in 2007 but spent the 2009 season on the Non-Football Illness List.

Paulescu joined the team on December 1, 2009 punting in five games for Tampa Bay. Murphy joined the Buccaneers on October 21, 2009 after being claimed off waivers from the Miami Dolphins and Woodson spent a portion of the 2009 season on the teams practice squad after being signed on December 10

In Other News

The the team officially announced that they have signed the following undrafted free agents:

DE Brandon Gilbeaux Delaware
OT Derek Hardman Eastern Kentucky
K Hunter Lawrence Texas
TE Jeron Mastrud Kansas State
LB Rico McCoy Tennessee
WR Preston Parker North Alabama
G Sergio Render Virginia Tech
G Vladimir Richard Tennessee
DB Dennis Rogan Tennessee
DE James Ruffin Northern Iowa
QB Jevan Snead Mississippi
OT James Williams Harvard

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInShare on Google+Pin on Pinterest
0 comments… add one

Leave a Comment